Mother’s Day Picnic

For Mother’s Day this year, we celebrated my mom as well as my sister, who is a mom for the first time this year. I thought I’d share our picnic with you, because I think if you are hosting a small wedding, an outdoor picnic might be a fun alternative to brunch the morning after the wedding. You can even use leftover flowers and decor from your wedding! A picnic might also be a great idea for the afternoon of your rehearsal dinner. Lunch in the park and lawn games with out-of-town guests and family could be the perfect antidote to wedding stress and jitters.

The photos are by T&H Photography and myself. Flowers and styling by Grey Likes Weddings.

For the recipe and photos of these lemon tartlettes we made for the picnic, check out Grey Likes Nesting!

10 Comments

Filed under Color, Decor, DIY Flowers, Flowers, Inspiration

10 responses to “Mother’s Day Picnic

  1. Pingback: Lemon Tartlettes «

  2. so sweet, and those lemon tartlettes look delish!

  3. love this! We are doing a picnic for our wedding reception, so thanks for the inspiration.

  4. Your picnic looks so refreshing and springy! Love it Summer…

  5. Grey

    Oh my gosh! A picnic wedding reception??? I LOVE it!!! I MUST see pictures!

  6. A beautiful atmosphere you created in such a lovely setting…I’m sure your mom was both delighted and honored:) A wonderful job as always!! One of my favorites were the Lemon Tarts…anything having to do with lemons reminds me of my grandmother, “Mimi. She had a lemon bush in her yard. The fragrance of the blooms and her love of “treats” made from lemon will always be a reminder of her. Thanks for the post and for the Lemon Tart recipe…I think I will attempt it in honor of her…and all the special women in our lives, including “you”, for all the wonderful things you do and for who you are!!

  7. I love this!! So creative and fun… already dreaming up ideas for my mom next year. 🙂

  8. Grey

    Aw! Thanks, Denise! I remember Diane always talking about Mimi, too. She sounded like such a wonderful lady! I think making the lemon tarts will be a perfect little celebration of her!

  9. Angeline

    What flower’s did you use in the floral arrangements? They’re beautiful!

  10. Grey

    Hi Angeline! We used peonies, ranunculus, billy balls, and a small assortment of fillers. The peonies were just drop dead gorgeous!!!

Leave a comment