DIY Wine Wrap

I recently put together a shoot for gift wrap inspiration with Jenny Liu Photography, MaeMae Paperie and Calligraphos Ink. Everything turned out so lovely and I’m so excited that it’s featured on Style Me Pretty today, so be sure to check it out. The first post is already up here!

I thought I’d share with your our DIY Wine Bottle Gift Wrap project that is so easy, and so impressive, you just can’t not give it a shot! This year, I’m really into reusing old sweaters that are either lying in my closet collecting dust, or ready for the take at my local thrift store. Here’s a GREAT way to use those sweaters to wrap a bottle of wine, that turns one gift into two.

Wine Bottle Gift Wrap:

Materials:
1 old sweater (I scour the thrift stores!)

2″-3″ of Fabric

Sewing Machine, or needle and thread!

Fabric scissors

Ribbon, yarn, gift tags etc… for embellishment
1. Once sweater is washed, start by inserting the wine bottle into the sleeve of the sweater. The sleeve should start just below the top of your wine bottle. Mark the sweater with length of your bottle, pull out the wine and cut the sweater sleeve off.

2. Place your bottle on the small square of fabric and trace a faint circle around the bottle. Give yourself an extra 1/4″-1/2″ outside of the bottle. Cut out this circle.

3. Turn the sleeve inside out and pin your fabric to the cut end of the sleeve. Sew together. Turn right side out and voila!

4. To complete, thread yarn through the sweater, or affix ribbon.

47 Comments

Filed under DIY

47 responses to “DIY Wine Wrap

  1. umm, gorgeous! bring me one wrapped all cozy + purdy tonight. 🙂

  2. LOVE this! such a cute idea!

  3. Brooke

    Fantastic idea! I think I’ll use the leftover sweater “body” to make a cozy pillow cover… hmm… the possibilities!

  4. I almost bought one of these on Etsy yesterday! I never thought to use the sleeve of an old sweater, and I’m sure I have a ton I could use! I’m totally going to try this project…Thanks! amanda 🙂

  5. Pingback: Gift Wrapping Inspiration from Grey Likes Weddings, II | Style Me Pretty : The Ultimate Wedding Blog

  6. Wiley Valentine

    Brilliant!! Totally using this idea. Thanks Summer! xoxo

  7. Such a cute idea! I’m definitely using this idea for my holiday gifts!

  8. God, that’s brilliant. Some people are just TOO fabulous! Thanks for sharing!

    Louise

  9. Beautiful! I am glad I donated all my old clothes recently but I’m wishing I kept a few sweaters for projects like these! I guess I’ll head back to Goodwill to buy some!

  10. Pingback: Wine Bottle Bags « Simply Handmade Blog

  11. precious! beautiful photos, too

  12. I love those wraps….but I’m kind of sad the sweater was chopped up! I love those fishermen knits…haha! I think Im to sentimental for this!

  13. Aww the last photo says it’s to Jenny !! I love love love your creativity Summer ~~ My jaws dropped when I saw your creations, they are so unique and pretty !

  14. Pingback: Gift Wrapping Inspiration from Grey… | Arts Lejdis

  15. Pingback: Creative Gift Wrapping « Amanda Jeanne Photography

  16. This is sooooo great!! Blogging about it now!! Hopefully I will send some traffic your way. 🙂

    ~ Cristin

  17. Pingback: DIY Wine Wrap « While I work

  18. Pingback: Half Baked – The Cake Blog » Hostess Gifts

  19. Pingback: Noiva » Blog Archive » Blusas usadas viram lembrancinha

  20. So cute and such a great idea!

  21. How sweet! So glad I found your blog, very inspirational!

  22. Pingback: The Amazing Transforming Sweater! «

  23. Pingback: DIY Wine Cozy « The Sweet Maple Life

  24. Awesomeness. I usually just wrap gifts with eyelids.

    -Andy Bonjour

  25. Pingback: Holiday Packaging from around the web | Programming Blog

  26. Pingback: Beautiful Packaging- DIY Sweater Wraps «

  27. Pingback: » Blog Archive » Bottle Cozies

  28. Pingback: southern California Wedding Blog Ventura County Wedding Photographer Pictures | Amanda Rae Photography Blog

  29. What a great idea. I’m going to try it. Very Eco Friendly

  30. hmmm… were is my old blazer? -)

  31. alright – this is a little crazy but…where are those WHITE scissors from? I spend my whole life searching for white scissors, and alas, you have found them – will you tell?

  32. Grey

    Hahaha! I love it. There are from a local fabric store here in the OC, called M&L Fabrics. They were actually on sale. I got them for something like $7. Can you believe it?

  33. I absolutely love these. Can’t wait to go home and clean out closets to make some of these for next Christmas. Thanks for sharing this great idea!

  34. Beautifully done – thanks for sharing! I write a blog about gift wrapping (http://www.thegiftedblog.com) and always love seeing other people’s creative ideas.

    Thank you for sharing – I’m off to take a look at Style Me Pretty!

  35. Pingback: » wine sweats

  36. Excellent detail in the photography of the wine bottle. Keep up the fantastic work!

  37. sam

    Nice picture,excellent work! Love these!

  38. alt

    i loved it! but how can i do something similar for 100 bottles (as favors in my wedding ) which fabric could i use instead?
    thx

  39. Pingback: Brown paper packages tied up with string… | just married.

  40. Pingback: DIY Weihnachtsdeko « ickemixe.

  41. Pingback: Il maglione diventa portabottiglie | Style blog: arte, design, consumi

  42. Pingback: DAY FOUR: Haute Hostess Gifts «

  43. Pingback: Guest Post: Ideas for Wrapping Your Homemade Goodies

  44. Pingback: Sweater Sleeve Wine Bags | how to be jenna

  45. Pingback: 6 idee prese in rete per... pacchi regalo creativi |

  46. Pingback: Bianco inverno – Come le Ciliegie

  47. Pingback: 20 DIY Wedding Projects For The Budget Bride - Austin Wedding Blog

Leave a comment