A Room Becomes a Wedding!

When looking for wedding inspiration, brides often limit themselves to what’s already been done in weddings. As a stylist, I’m always looking for inspiration from any source imaginable, and encourage brides to do the same. If they want to stretch a little, and particularly if they are looking for something fresh and new, what better place to look than interior design?

I recently did a shoot with T&H Photography (who you MUST check out, because they are FAB!) where I decided to do just that–interiors were to be my muse. One of my absolute favorite stylists is Eddie Ross, former Senior Style Editor of Martha Stewart Living and guru of all things fabulous. Eddie designed a living room display for a Bloomingdales window and it provided the perfect inspiration for a wedding! Here’s a peek at where I got my start for our shoot:

Bravery with color and pattern can yield some very striking results, if you’re willing to give it a shot. I mean, I just can’t get enough of that rich royal pink!!! We’re about to get a little crazy on you, so I hope you enjoy this little foray into the wild side of design!

Of course, none of this loveliness could have come together without our amazing team! Be sure to check out the work of T&H Photography, who did an incredible job shooting our scene. I’m also MADLY in love with Aly over at The Vine’s Leaf. Her florals really steal the show! And of course, how darling is the work of Paper and Thread? She incorporates fabric into her stationery design and it’s such a darling touch. We even made the bride’s belt and the groom’s boutonniere out of the fabric she used for the stationery. Oh how I love coordinating mini-details like that. Call me obsessive!

You can also see our shoot featured today on Style Me Pretty, where you’ll find more photos and information on our shoot, including resources and background, so be sure to check it out! I hope you enjoy!

27 Comments

Filed under Decor, Inspiration

27 responses to “A Room Becomes a Wedding!

  1. fabulous. just like you. xoxo

  2. I love all the little details… the belt, the shoes… and how about that suit!

  3. Wow oh wow! Interior design is my favorite source of inspiration and I could just die over this wedding shoot! Awesome job!

  4. Grey

    LOVE the suit! It’s from J.Crew!

  5. Ugh, so brilliant I can’t stand it! I love the horse touches throughout too.

  6. Pingback: Rock 'n Roll Bride · Thursday Treats – 25th March 2010

  7. love love love this! i also love being inspired by interior designs for creating looks for my clients!

  8. Those chairs are to die for!

    Interior design is such a fun part of wedding planning, I love these little touches.

  9. those fuchsia taper candles just took it over the edge for me. this shoot is so fantastic!

  10. love it love it !! Summer you always do the most amazing styles !!

  11. Grey

    Thank you! And the taper candles? Couldn’t find the color I was looking for, so I totally spray painted them. You can bet I’m never going to light those babies.

  12. Pingback: Weekly Fixations – March 26, 2010 « Mollie Tobias Photography Weddings and Portraits

  13. SO SO GORGEOUS!!! That table is to die for…LOVE the centerpiece bouquet.

  14. Oooooh this is all so very lovely!

  15. Bethany

    beautiful summer! i love that this shoot is out of the vintage-book-typewriter-suitcase box!🙂

  16. I love the sweet, casual feel and what a STUNNING field! xo

  17. Grey

    Thanks Bethany! I feel the same way! It’s tough to think outside the box sometimes, but totally worth it!!!

  18. Lovely photos – you’ve caught the light beautifully.

    Cheers

    Mark.

  19. simply lovely …. that table is amazing

  20. Pingback: Fresh Friday! » Fresh Wed

  21. wENDY mEYER

    I have searched literally high and low for that place that is that field, put logistics to pull all my family and friends into that field on our wedding day for a reasonable cost is just so problematic…I want that eco friendly green, lush chic wedding with our beautiful son in nature in a field in front of a tree like that, where did you find it and how hard is it to get to?

  22. Grey

    Hey Wendy. That field is Riley Wilderness Park in Coto de Caza, California. I’ll be honest, I’m not sure if it is available for hosting a wedding. I just heard about a really great place from my photographer friend Alice Hu. It’s called Condor’s Nest Ranch. Check it out here: http://www.thecondorsnestranch.com/. Good luck with the search! Finding a location is, from my own personal experience, one of THE hardest parts about planning a wedding!

  23. such a great shoot. Lovely lovely lovely. I particularly love her hair!

  24. The sun glare really lays your worries down. It feels charming, enthralling and just makes you wish you were part of this.

Leave a Reply

