Less is More

Happy Wednesday. It’s my day off and I have much to tackle: I plan to refinish a bookshelf and catch a showing of “Fantastic Mr. Fox” at the dollar theater. I might clean out my car but I won’t make any promises.

As you know, the Academy Awards were Sunday night. At an earlier ceremony, actress Lauren Bacall was presented with an honorary Oscar for her career accomplishments. Bacall is a personal favorite for her remarkable beauty and elegant style, as well as her acting finesse. While watching b-roll footage of her film work, I wondered about her wedding to Humphrey Bogart. I was curious as to what she wore, where the ceremony was held, and so on.

Enter Google.

Their wedding and honeymoon took place at Malabar Farm near Lucas, Ohio. It was the country home of Pulitzer Prize-winning author Louis Bromfield, a close friend of Bogart. That’s swell, but what gets me is her wedding dress.

Yes, that is it. Here is further proof.



(Images: Ed Clark/Time & Life Pictures)

Maybe I am too modern a girl, but I think she looks fabulous. The simplicity of the wedding ceremony combined with their visible happiness is inspiring. Because sometimes less is more. And what’s most is who you’re with and why you’re there.

-a

8 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Real Wedding, The Dress

8 responses to “Less is More

  1. I couldn’t agree more! Lauren Bacall looks stunning, and the joy in each image is palpable.

  2. First off, dollar theaters are the best invention ever, hands down.

    Secondly, I’m not digging the suit, but the second I saw their smiles, the way he looked at her, that suit didn’t matter at all.

  3. Bravo – I concur! This reminds me of my mom’s wedding dress, which makes me smile a lot. :o)

  4. Valerie

    I have a picture of my grandmothers wedding and she is wearing almost the exact same suit! She is also wearing a hat with a feather in it – so chic yet so simple. I just love it!

  5. Those are great photos…i love my grandparents wedding pics too…so classy!

  6. This is so simple and lovely! I love the photo of them cutting the cake.

  7. what a classically tailored and beautiful bride she made. a smile is always in style, no?

  8. Grey

    She exudes class. And class, as my mom always says, can never be purchased, no matter how much money you have!

Leave a Reply

